He’ll Be OK: Growing Gorgeous Boys into Good Men – MHV’s first regional PD and community tour (Victoria)

October 27, 2012
By

b_300_300_16777215_00___images_he_will_be_ok.jpg

Immediately following the Victorian Male Health Gathering, keynote speaker Celia Lashlie embarks on a speaking tour to seven locations across Victoria.  She will present her observations arising from The Good Man Project, in which she visited 25 New Zealand boys’ secondary schools to examine how best adults in all capacities can help teenage boys have the best chance of becoming great men, husbands/partners, fathers, community members, etc.

These events will be free of charge or a small charge might apply in some venues.  In six locations Celia will present a Professional Development session for teachers, youth workers, police youth officers, etc. in the late afternoon.  In the evening she will address parents and anyone at all who is concerned with adolescent boy development and/or may have missed the PD session in the afternoon.  In Mornington there is only the one general session at 6.00 pm.

Sessions are auspiced and arranged by local community organisations and individuals, and so the times and venues vary.  Our sincere thanks to these individuals and organisations.  Here is the schedule of dates and contact details for each area, so you can find out more:

DATES, LOCATIONS & LOCAL CO-ORDINATORS

TUESDAY, 20 NOVEMBER – MORNINGTON  (General session only, at 6.00 pm)

Frankston/Mornington Peninsular Local Learning & Employment Network (LLEN), Carol Smith – Executive Officer, (ph.) 5975 2445, carol@fmpllen.com.au

WEDNESDAY 21 NOVEMBER – HAMILTON

Western District Health Service & Hamilton College, Stuart Willder – Men’s Health Promotion Manager, 0408 393 347, stuart.willder@wdhs.net

THURSDAY, 22 NOVEMBER – GEELONG

Barwon Health & GMHBA Ltd, Peter Kelly – Health Promotion Officer, 0458 054 751, peter.kelly@barwonhealth.org.au

MONDAY 26 NOVEMBER – RINGWOOD EAST

Outer Eastern LLEN (Croydon), Fiona Purcell – Executive Officer, 9723 2717, fpurcell@oellen.org.au

TUESDAY 27 NOVEMBER – WONTHAGGI

Terry Melvin – Organiser (with support from Bass Coast Shire Council), 0434 086 045, terry.melvin@tlc21.com.au

WEDNESDAY 28 NOVEMBER – BERWICK

Outer South East Men’s Work Network, Rob Koch – Chairperson, 0432 439 943,  rob.koch@southernhealth.org.au

THURSDAY 29 NOVEMBER – BALLARAT

Highlands LLEN (Ballarat), Wendy Draayers – Executive Officer or Jenny Sherriff – Project Officer, 5336 5020, wdraayers@highlandsllen.org

CELIA NEXT YEAR?

We have already had hints that some of the above organisations may want Celia to return to speak to more people.  At the same time there are many Victorian communities where she hasn’t been heard.  For example, we could do a run along the Murray River from Mildura to Corryong, or through Gippsland from Warragul to Orbost, or out from Geelong to Warrnambool and Portland.  The northern, western and inner suburbs of Melbourne also under consideration.

If you are interested in having Celia speak in your area, e-mail secretary@malehealthvic.org.au with Celia – Expression of Interest – in the subject line, and your name, organisation and contact details.  I’ll get back to you in early December to discuss your interest.  And remember, you can sample Celia on Day Two of the Gathering, Tuesday 20 November – she is speaking at 1.30 pm.

BRIAN MIER
Celia Lashlie Tour Manager
Male Health Victoria Inc.
PO Box 1062, Croydon  Vic  3136
Ph.  0418 326 670
E.  secretary@malehealthvic.org.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.