Living Outback (new radio series on PBA FM and live streaming)

March 13, 2013
By

Rural and remote communities are at the centre of the mythology and cultural ethos of Australia. Most of us have indulged nostalgic and sentimental thoughts of the outback and life in the bush – helped along perhaps by a film we’ve seen. But the reality of life for many people in rural and remote Australia is quite another story – and one that needs to be told. The fifteen programs in the Living Outback series will draw out the reality of life in rural and remote communities, in order to highlight their needs and struggles, but as well their successes and dogged determination to somehow shape a new way forward – a new future for themselves. 

Dr John Ashfield, Project Consultant

LIVING OUTBACK WEBSITE    www.livingoutback.com.au

Program Details – Subject to change without notice

Prog

Details

PBA FM – W/B

01

Changing Times 

Rural Communities In Decline

Mon 01 Apr

02

The Emerging Legacy of Drought

The Heavy Price that Endurance is now Exacting from Rural Families

Mon 08 Apr

03

The Lived Experience

Every Town, Every Settlement, Every Community Experiences Change In Different Ways   

Mon 15 Apr

04

Farm Safety – The Reality 

Improving Health Wellbeing And Safety On Our Farms

Mon 22 Apr

05

Single and Dateless in the Bush

The Ongoing Drought

Mon 29 Apr

06

The Mining Bonanza

A Boon or a Blow for Rural Communities and Families?

Mon 06 May

07

Broken Tradition, Broken Promises

How the Issue of Succession is Affecting Families in Rural Australia 

Mon 13 May

08

Hard Working and Hard Drinking

How Alcohol has become the Silent Killer of Rural Males

Mon 20 May

09

Shattered Lives

The Tragedy and Legacy of Male Suicide in Rural and Remote Communities

Mon 27 May

10

Outback Women Part 1

How a Special Breed of Women Survive and Thrive in the Australian Outback

Mon 05 Jun

11

Outback Women Part 2

In  Conversation with Two Remarkable Rural Women

Mon 12 Jun

12

Whatever Happened To The Old Bush School?

Education In Rural And Remote Australia

Mon 19 Jun

13

Tree-change

Benefits and Challenges of Moving to the Country

Mon 26 Jun

14

Keeping Your Wits without a Psychiatrist

How You Can Take Care of Your Own Mental Health

Mon 01 Jul

15

Thinking Outside the Square

Stories of Success and Enterprise in Rural and Remote Australia

Mon 08 Jul

LIVE STREAMING – ACROSS AUSTRALIA AND WORLDWIDEwww.pbafm.org.au

Fifteen weeks beginning 8.30pm Monday 01 April; repeat broadcast 9am Friday 05 April. 

NOTE – Australian Central STANDARD Time – CHECK www.timeanddate.com 

BROADCAST – ADELAIDE

Fifteen weeks beginning 8.30pm Monday 01 April; repeat broadcast Friday 05 April 9am

PBA FM – tune to 89.7 on the FM band in metropolitan Adelaide.

COMMUNITY STATIONS ACROSS AUSTRALIA

Some community stations in all states may choose to run these programs. For a full list of stations, state by state, see http://www.cbaa.org.au/Who_We_Are/Member-Stations

Enquiries and feedback – Tony Ryan, PBA FM, Salisbury, South Australia

Mobile 0408 883 334       Email –  learningworks@pbafm.org.au

Source: Living Outback website (http://livingoutback.com.au)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.